AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

Choosing an entry-level Kindle mostly comes down to how much screen space and added convenience you want. The Kindle 16 GB (2024) is my pick for the simplest, lightest way into e-reading; the standard Kindle Paperwhite 16 GB adds a larger waterproof screen without the Signature Edition extras; and the Paperwhite Signature Edition is for readers who want automatic light adjustment, more storage, and wireless charging. All three have glare-free, 300 ppi displays, but they differ in size, weight, water protection, and how many premium features they include.

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

There is one mismatch to flag: the requested title says “4,” but the supplied lineup contains three products. I’ve ranked the three options provided rather than inventing a fourth recommendation. My order prioritizes the most approachable entry point, then added everyday versatility, then the Signature Edition’s convenience features. The best fit depends on whether you value a lighter device, a bigger screen, or a more hands-off reading setup.

3
compared
1
brands
2
battery lifes
32 GB
max storage
Which entry level kindle should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Kindle 16 GB
Best Overall for a First Kindle
Lightest model in this comparison at 5.56 ounces
See on Amazon →
New Kindle buyers who want a larger screen and waterproofing, but do not need wireless charging or doubled storage.
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB
7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi display gives more reading area than the basic Kindle
View on Amazon →
Readers who want a waterproof 7-inch Kindle with automatic light adjustment, wireless charging support, and more storage.
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed
7-inch glare-free display with 300 ppi resolution
View on Amazon →
Storage — compared
Kindle 16 GB16 GB
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB16 GB
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed32 GB
Pros & cons at a glance
Kindle 16 GB
✓ Lightest model in this comparison at 5.56 ounces
✗ Smaller screen and shorter stated battery life than either Paperwhite
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB
✓ 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi display gives more reading area than the basic Kindle
✗ Heavier than the 6-inch Kindle
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed
✓ 7-inch glare-free display with 300 ppi resolution
✗ Heaviest option in this comparison

Complete the kit

iO CLEAN 16oz Screen Cleaner Spray – Best Large Cleaning Kit
iO CLEAN 16oz Screen Cleaner Spray – Best Large Cleaning Kit
Add to your setup →
EVEO Screen Cleaner Spray - Large Screen Cleaner Bottle -...
EVEO Screen Cleaner Spray – Large Screen Cleaner Bottle -…
Add to your setup →
Screen Mom Screen Cleaner Spray 16oz Bottle for TV, Car,...
Screen Mom Screen Cleaner Spray 16oz Bottle for TV, Car,…
Add to your setup →

Key Takeaways

  • The Kindle 16 GB (2024) is the lightest option here at 5.56 ounces and has a 6-inch screen, making it the most straightforward pick for basic reading and portability.
  • Both Paperwhite models have a 7-inch, 300 ppi display, IPX8 waterproofing, and battery life listed at up to 12 weeks; choose between them based on extras rather than screen size.
  • The standard Paperwhite 16 GB offers the larger display and water protection without the Signature Edition’s added features, so it is the balanced upgrade from the basic Kindle.
  • The Paperwhite Signature Edition doubles storage to 32 GB and adds auto-adjusting light and wireless charging, but those additions may matter little to readers who mainly read text.
  • None of the three has cellular connectivity, and all are best suited to readers comfortable with Kindle’s Amazon-centered library and Wi-Fi-based setup.
2
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB
Best Value Upgrade for a Bigger Screen
1
Kindle 16 GB
Best Overall for a First Kindle
3
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed
Best for Convenience-Focused Readers

Our Top 4 Best Entry Level Kindles Picks

Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model)Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model)Best Overall for a First KindleDisplay: 6-inch glare-free, 300 ppiStorage: 16 GBBattery life: Up to 6 weeksVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024, 7″ glare-free display, waterproof, Wi-Fi)Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024, 7" glare-free display, waterproof, Wi-Fi)Best Value Upgrade for a Bigger ScreenDisplay: 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppiStorage: 16 GBBattery life: Up to 12 weeksVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024) – Waterproof, Auto-Adjusting Light, Wireless ChargingKindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024) - Waterproof, Auto-Adjusting Light, Wireless ChargingBest for Convenience-Focused ReadersDisplay: 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppiStorage: 32 GBBattery life: Up to 12 weeksVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
entry level kindleDisplayStorageBattery lifeWeight
Kindle 16 GB6-inch glare-free, 300 ppi16 GBUp to 6 weeks5.56 oz (158 g)
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi16 GBUp to 12 weeks7.4 oz (211 g)
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi32 GBUp to 12 weeks7.5 oz (214 g)

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model)

    Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model)

    Best Overall for a First Kindle

    View on Amazon

    For a reader who wants an e-reader rather than a small tablet, the Kindle 16 GB (2024) is the clearest starting point in this lineup. Its 6-inch glare-free display keeps the device compact, and the 300 ppi resolution gives text the same stated pixel density as the larger Paperwhite models. Adjustable brightness lets you read in different lighting, while the listed weight of 5.56 ounces makes it the easiest of these three to carry for long stretches.

    The main tradeoff is screen area. Compared with either Paperwhite, this Kindle shows less text at once, so readers who use larger fonts may turn pages more often. It also lacks the Paperwhite models’ IPX8 waterproofing, which matters if you read near a bath, pool, or in unpredictable outdoor conditions. Its up-to-six-week battery claim is shorter than the Paperwhites’ up-to-12-week claim, though the smaller, lighter design may be a worthwhile exchange for someone who prioritizes portability.

    Storage is 16 GB, matching the standard Paperwhite and offering ample room for a substantial book collection. The Signature Edition doubles that capacity, but that distinction is less compelling for a reader whose library is mostly text. This basic model also lists a broad range of formats, including document and image types; however, file compatibility and transfer steps can vary. The listed setup caveat is practical: you need a USB-C charger available for initial setup, and the model does not support ad-hoc Wi-Fi networks.

    I rank it first because it gives a new reader the core Kindle experience without requiring a decision about wireless charging or other premium conveniences. Pick the standard Paperwhite instead if you want the larger display and waterproofing. Skip this one if those features are central to where and how you read.

    Pros:
    • Lightest model in this comparison at 5.56 ounces
    • 6-inch glare-free 300 ppi display with adjustable brightness
    • 16 GB storage and a listed battery life of up to six weeks
    • Broad listed format support, including common document and image formats
    Cons:
    • Smaller screen and shorter stated battery life than either Paperwhite
    • No stated waterproof rating
    • Requires a USB-C charger for initial setup and does not support ad-hoc Wi-Fi networks

    Best for: First-time e-reader buyers who want a light, compact Kindle for everyday books and do not need waterproofing.

    Not ideal for: Readers who want a larger screen, IPX8 water protection, or the Paperwhite battery-life claim.

    • Display:6-inch glare-free, 300 ppi
    • Storage:16 GB
    • Battery life:Up to 6 weeks
    • Weight:5.56 oz (158 g)
    • Dimensions:6.2 x 4.3 x 0.32 inches
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
    • Waterproofing:Not listed
    • Warranty:1-year limited
    Our verdict
    “I recommend this as the most approachable first Kindle if portability and core reading features matter more than a larger waterproof screen.”
  2. Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024, 7″ glare-free display, waterproof, Wi-Fi)

    Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024, 7" glare-free display, waterproof, Wi-Fi)

    Best Value Upgrade for a Bigger Screen

    View on Amazon

    The standard Kindle Paperwhite 16 GB is the natural step up for a beginner who already knows a compact screen will feel cramped. Its 7-inch display offers more room for text than the basic Kindle’s 6-inch panel, while keeping the same stated 300 ppi resolution. That extra area can make a difference for readers who increase font size or simply prefer fewer page turns. The device also adds IPX8 waterproofing, making it more suitable than the entry Kindle for reading near water.

    Compared with the Signature Edition, this model keeps the main Paperwhite advantages—larger display, waterproof design, and a stated battery life of up to 12 weeks—while using 16 GB of storage and omitting wireless charging and auto-adjusting light. For many new readers, that is a sensible split: the standard Paperwhite improves the parts of reading you notice directly, while skipping conveniences that may not change your routine. Its 7.4-ounce weight is still notably higher than the basic Kindle’s 5.56 ounces, so it is not the best choice for someone who wants the smallest possible device.

    The supplied description mentions adjustable lighting, while the listed tradeoff says there is no lighting customization beyond brightness adjustment. I would treat this as a simpler lighting setup than the Signature Edition’s auto-adjusting front light, rather than assuming a feature not specified in the details. Like the other Paperwhite, this model is Wi-Fi only and does not offer cellular connectivity. Its file-format list is also narrower than the basic Kindle’s, so buyers planning to use personal documents should check their preferred file-transfer workflow.

    This is my second-ranked pick because it adds the two upgrades most likely to matter to a beginner who reads in varied places: screen area and water resistance. Choose the basic Kindle for less weight and a simpler compact design; choose Signature if automatic lighting, wireless charging, or 32 GB storage is a specific priority.

    Pros:
    • 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi display gives more reading area than the basic Kindle
    • IPX8 waterproofing suits reading near water
    • Listed battery life of up to 12 weeks
    • 16 GB storage for a sizable book collection
    Cons:
    • Heavier than the 6-inch Kindle
    • Does not include the Signature Edition’s wireless charging or auto-adjusting light
    • Wi-Fi only, with no cellular connectivity

    Best for: New Kindle buyers who want a larger screen and waterproofing, but do not need wireless charging or doubled storage.

    Not ideal for: Readers who prioritize the lightest device, automatic light adjustment, wireless charging, or cellular access.

    • Display:7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi
    • Storage:16 GB
    • Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
    • Weight:7.4 oz (211 g)
    • Waterproofing:IPX8
    • Dimensions:5 x 7 x 0.3 inches (127.6 x 176.7 x 7.8 mm)
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
    • Charging:USB-C
    Our verdict
    “I’d choose this Paperwhite when a bigger waterproof screen matters more than keeping the device as light and simple as possible.”
  3. Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024) – Waterproof, Auto-Adjusting Light, Wireless Charging

    Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024) - Waterproof, Auto-Adjusting Light, Wireless Charging

    Best for Convenience-Focused Readers

    View on Amazon

    The Paperwhite Signature Edition is the most feature-rich option here, but those upgrades suit a particular kind of beginner: someone who wants a larger waterproof Kindle and values a more automatic setup. Its 7-inch, 300 ppi display matches the standard Paperwhite on the core screen specs. The difference is in the extras: 32 GB storage, auto-adjusting front light, and wireless charging. Automatic brightness can reduce the need to keep changing the light by hand, while wireless charging gives owners another charging option if they have compatible equipment.

    Against the standard Paperwhite, the Signature Edition does not make the reading area larger or add a higher stated pixel density. Both have IPX8 water resistance and battery life listed at up to 12 weeks, and both lack cellular connectivity. That makes the upgrade a question of convenience and storage, not a fundamentally different reading experience. Wireless charging also depends on an additional accessory, so the feature may not be useful straight away if you do not already own a compatible charging dock.

    At 7.5 ounces, this is the heaviest of the three, though the difference from the standard Paperwhite is small. It is substantially less compact than the basic Kindle, and its extra storage is not necessary for every book reader. The supplied description places it within Amazon’s content ecosystem; buyers who rely on other digital libraries or specific file workflows should check compatibility before choosing any Kindle. Its listed formats include common Kindle and document types, images, and Audible AAX, but that does not mean every source will work without setup.

    I rank this third for an entry-level guide because its headline extras are worthwhile only for readers who will use them. If you want the largest screen and waterproofing at a simpler feature level, the standard Paperwhite is a closer fit. If you want a 6-inch lightweight device, the basic Kindle is easier to carry. Choose Signature when auto-adjusting light, wireless charging, and added storage are features you actively want rather than upgrades you expect to ignore.

    Pros:
    • 7-inch glare-free display with 300 ppi resolution
    • 32 GB storage, double the capacity of the other models listed
    • Auto-adjusting front light and wireless charging support
    • IPX8 waterproofing and stated battery life of up to 12 weeks
    Cons:
    • Heaviest option in this comparison
    • Wireless charging requires a compatible accessory
    • No cellular connectivity, and its added features may be unnecessary for basic reading

    Best for: Readers who want a waterproof 7-inch Kindle with automatic light adjustment, wireless charging support, and more storage.

    Not ideal for: Beginners seeking the lightest or simplest Kindle, or readers unlikely to use the Signature Edition’s extra features.

    • Display:7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi
    • Storage:32 GB
    • Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
    • Weight:7.5 oz (214 g)
    • Waterproofing:IPX8
    • Charging:Wireless charging and USB-C
    • Dimensions:5 x 7 x 0.3 inches
    • Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
    • Supported formats:AZW3, AZW, TXT, PDF, MOBI, EPUB, JPEG, GIF, PNG, BMP, Audible AAX
    Our verdict
    “I’d pick the Signature Edition over the standard Paperwhite only when its automatic lighting, wireless charging, or extra storage will make a meaningful difference to your routine.”
4 best entry level kindles
What makes a great entry level kindle
1
Choose screen size around your reading habits
The basic Kindle’s 6-inch display keeps the device compact, but the Paperwhites’ 7-inch screens show more text at once.
2
Treat waterproofing as a use-case feature
Both Paperwhites list IPX8 waterproofing ; the basic Kindle does not include a waterproof rating in the supplied specifications.
3
Separate battery claims from charging convenience
The basic Kindle lists up to six weeks of battery life, while both Paperwhite models list up to 12 weeks.
4
Buy storage for your library, not just the larger number
Both the basic Kindle and standard Paperwhite have 16 GB , while Signature has 32 GB.
How to choose your entry level kindle
1
How we picked
I ranked these models for someone buying a first Kindle, not for someone seeking the most elaborate e-reader available.
2
Choose screen size around your reading habits
The basic Kindle’s 6-inch display keeps the device compact, but the Paperwhites’ 7-inch screens show more text at once.
3
Treat waterproofing as a use-case feature
Both Paperwhites list IPX8 waterproofing ; the basic Kindle does not include a waterproof rating in the supplied specifi
4
Separate battery claims from charging convenience
The basic Kindle lists up to six weeks of battery life, while both Paperwhite models list up to 12 weeks.
5
Buy storage for your library, not just the larger number
Both the basic Kindle and standard Paperwhite have 16 GB , while Signature has 32 GB.
Vetted entry level kindles ·
The best entry level kindles, compared
★ Winner Kindle 16 GB
Best Overall for a First Kindle
3compared
32 GBtop storage
2battery lifes

How We Picked

I ranked these models for someone buying a first Kindle, not for someone seeking the most elaborate e-reader available. That means I gave weight to the reading experience a new owner will notice every day: display size and clarity, portability, lighting, battery claims, water resistance, and how much the device adds beyond the basics. I also separated features that change the reading experience from upgrades that mainly add convenience.

The Kindle 16 GB (2024) leads as the uncomplicated entry point because it is lighter and smaller than either Paperwhite while retaining a 300 ppi glare-free display and adjustable brightness. The standard Paperwhite ranks next for readers who want a larger screen and waterproofing, without paying attention to Signature-only extras. The Signature Edition comes third for this particular brief—not because its hardware is weaker, but because its extra storage, wireless charging, and automatic light are less necessary for a first Kindle focused on books. Those same features can make it the better fit for a buyer who already knows they want them.

I used only the supplied product details and compared stated specifications and tradeoffs. Battery figures are manufacturer claims, not a guarantee of real-world use; reading habits, lighting, and wireless activity affect battery life. I have not treated library size or format listings as proof that every file can be loaded without conversion or that every title is available in every region. Since the request provides three products, this guide compares those three and does not add an unsupported fourth model.

Feature comparison
entry level kindleBattery lifeWaterproofingCharging
Kindle 16 GBUp to 6 weeksNot listed—
Kindle Paperwhite 16GBUp to 12 weeksIPX8USB-C
Kindle Paperwhite Signature EdUp to 12 weeksIPX8Wireless charging and USB-C
Everyday → specialist
Everyday & valuePremium & specialist
Which entry level kindle fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing 4 Best Entry Level Kindles

I would make this choice by starting with where you read and what you want the device to do. The screen and water protection create the biggest practical split; Signature-only conveniences matter after those basics.

Choose screen size around your reading habits

The basic Kindle’s 6-inch display keeps the device compact, but the Paperwhites’ 7-inch screens show more text at once. If you mostly read standard novels and want a Kindle that disappears into a small bag, the smaller screen is a reasonable trade. If you use larger text, want a roomier page, or find frequent page turns distracting, the Paperwhite’s extra display area may be worth the added weight. All three list 300 ppi, so the central difference is screen size, not stated pixel density.

Treat waterproofing as a use-case feature

Both Paperwhites list IPX8 waterproofing; the basic Kindle does not include a waterproof rating in the supplied specifications. That distinction matters if you often read by a pool, in the bath, or outdoors where splashes are possible. It matters less if your reading happens on a sofa, at a desk, or on a dry commute. Water resistance is not a reason to expose a device carelessly to water, but it can offer a more forgiving fit for wet settings.

Separate battery claims from charging convenience

The basic Kindle lists up to six weeks of battery life, while both Paperwhite models list up to 12 weeks. These figures are stated maximums rather than a promise for every reader; actual battery use depends on settings and habits. The Signature Edition adds wireless charging, but the supplied details say a compatible dock is an additional accessory. Pick it if that charging method fits your setup; otherwise, USB-C charging keeps the standard options straightforward.

Buy storage for your library, not just the larger number

Both the basic Kindle and standard Paperwhite have 16 GB, while Signature has 32 GB. For a library made largely of text-based books, 16 GB is a substantial amount of space. The larger capacity becomes more relevant if you plan to keep many large files or audiobooks on the device, though the supplied details do not specify how much storage each type of content uses. I would not choose Signature for capacity alone unless you expect to use it.

Check connectivity and content fit before buying

All three options use 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz Wi-Fi, and none lists cellular connectivity. The basic Kindle also states that it does not support ad-hoc Wi-Fi networks and requires a USB-C charger for initial setup. Kindle devices are a better fit for readers comfortable using Amazon’s ecosystem; people with books from other sources should check format and transfer compatibility for the specific titles they own. A long list of supported formats does not remove every possible conversion or setup step.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Kindle in this comparison is best for a first-time buyer?

I’d start with the Kindle 16 GB (2024) if you want the lightest, most compact option and mainly plan to read books. It has a 300 ppi display and adjustable brightness, but costs you the larger screen and waterproof rating found on the Paperwhites. If those two features matter more than portability, the standard Paperwhite is the more suitable first purchase.

Is the Paperwhite Signature Edition worth choosing over the standard Paperwhite?

It makes sense when you specifically want auto-adjusting light, wireless charging, or 32 GB of storage. The two Paperwhites share a 7-inch, 300 ppi display, IPX8 waterproofing, and the same stated maximum battery life, so Signature does not offer a larger or higher-resolution screen. If the added features would rarely be used, the standard Paperwhite covers the main reading upgrades more directly.

Do all three Kindles have the same screen resolution?

Yes. The supplied specifications list 300 ppi for all three models. The basic Kindle has a 6-inch display, while both Paperwhites have 7-inch displays, so the larger models provide more screen area rather than a higher stated pixel density. Readers who value a compact device may prefer the smaller panel; those who want more text on each page may prefer a Paperwhite.

Which models are waterproof?

The standard Paperwhite and Paperwhite Signature Edition list IPX8 waterproofing. The supplied details do not give the basic Kindle a waterproof rating, so I would not select it for reading around water based on this comparison. Waterproofing can be useful for a poolside or bath reading routine, but it is still sensible to follow the manufacturer’s care guidance.

Is 16 GB enough for an entry-level Kindle?

For a reader whose library is mostly text-based books, 16 GB should be a practical starting capacity across the basic Kindle and standard Paperwhite. The Signature Edition’s 32 GB gives more room for larger files and stored content, but the supplied specifications do not quantify how many titles fit on each model. I would choose the higher capacity when you have a clear storage need, rather than treating it as necessary for every new Kindle owner.

Conclusion

My recommendation depends on which tradeoff matters most. Choose the Kindle 16 GB (2024) if you want a light, compact first e-reader for everyday books. Pick the standard Paperwhite 16 GB if a larger 7-inch display and waterproofing are worth carrying a heavier device. Go for the Paperwhite Signature Edition if you’ll use automatic lighting, wireless charging, or the extra storage. I compared three supplied products, not four; among them, the standard Kindle is the most uncomplicated starting point, while either Paperwhite is the better fit for readers who want a roomier, water-resistant screen.

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

14 Best Pet Strollers for Small Dogs That Make Outings Easier and More Fun

Find the best pet strollers for small dogs in 2026. Our curated guide covers top picks, key features, and buying tips for safe, comfortable outings.

12 Best Portable Laptop Stands for Students in 2026

Discover the top portable laptop stands for students in 2026. Find the best options for comfort, portability, and value to enhance your study setup.

13 Best Quick Release Systems for Sim Racing Wheels in 2026

Boost your sim racing setup with the 13 best quick release systems in 2026—discover which options will elevate your experience and why they stand out.

6 Best VR Headset Bundles for PCVR Users in 2026

Discover the top VR headset bundles for PCVR in 2026. Find the best options for performance, value, and beginner-friendly setups in this comprehensive guide.